Day 106: Differentiated by Design

Skitched-image0

Today was supposed to be a half-day of self-directed PD, but was canceled due to overnight snow.

In getting ready for my SBG workshop yesterday, I happened upon this arrangement of Yankees which I think might be useful. There is a small U-shape of takes near the SmartBoard for direct instruction, two areas for group work, and an space for individual work (studying, reassessments, etc.)

Kids would be able to choose where they sit based upon the work they need/want to do that day. I haven't figured out all the logistics yet, but I'm willing to try it out. Tables can be moved to accommodate more/less kids at each area.

My thinking for flow within a unit:
1. Paradigm lab = whole class
2. Model deployment = self-paced (pictured room arrangement)
3. Lab Practicum = whole class

About Frank Noschese

HS Physics Teacher constantly questioning my teaching.

2 responses to “Day 106: Differentiated by Design”

  1. Anonymous says :

    I long for the day that I can pull this off! This looks amazing.

  2. Marc Seigel says :

    I love this design and would work well in any blended learning classroom. However, what I struggle with is the direct instruction section of the room. How do you structure that so 1) you don’t disrupt the other groups working, and 2) don’t entice the group work students to join the direct instruction because it is the "easier" method? It would work better if you could sit among the students to do the instruction so there is not the focus on the teacher up on stage.

Leave a Reply

