Day 142: No More Quizzes (aka Getting Started with BlueHarvest)

After grading a perpetual stack of quizzes and requizzes in College-Prep during the 3rd quarter (where the burden was always on me for students to demonstrate mastery), I’ve decided to drop quizzes all together and move to portfolios. We are going to use Shawn Cornally’s Blue Harvest Feedback to keep track of evidence and feedback.

For more info about portfolios in physics, see Timothy Slater’s paper about portfolios.

If the experiment doesn’t work, I can easily switch back to quizzes in September (I’ll just need to enforce my retake policy better). I think it’s much harder to start portfolios in September and then switch to quizzes later in the year if the portfolio experiment doesn’t work.

I’ll keep you all posted!

About Frank Noschese

HS Physics Teacher constantly questioning my teaching.

One response to “Day 142: No More Quizzes (aka Getting Started with BlueHarvest)”

  1. Nicholas Park says :

    Thanks for posting. I am intrigued.

Leave a Reply

