Day 25: Gravitational Force Wrap-Up

IMG_20131015_143823776

College-Prep Physics: We wrapped up some traditional physics homework problems about mass and weight. The highlight of my day was when a student said, “I was absent Thursday when we went over the equations, so I just used the [weight vs. mass] graph I had in my lab notebook to solve the problems. Is that OK?”

YES! Of course!

Also, we discussed the WHY of gravity. I originally was going to show a clip from Carl Sagan’s Cosmos about the bending of space-time like a rubber sheet, but the clip had been removed due to copyright violations. Instead, I found this great clip from Brian Greene’s NOVA special The Fabric of the Cosmos:

Direct link to higher quality PBS website video

And here, physics teacher Dan Burns shows off his life-sized rubber sheet model:

 

Tags: ,

About Frank Noschese

HS Physics Teacher constantly questioning my teaching.

Leave a Reply

