Day 61: Texting While Driving 2014

IMG_20131214_213030

College-Prep Physics: Today we did the Texting While Driving activity that I first did last year. I love that this is a High Engagement – Low Tech activity. I also love that it’s very open ended and students need to make a variety of assumptions and measurements. Of course, they are very uncomfortable with this type of problem and ask me all sorts of questions:

“How fast are am I going?

“Is the time just for texting, or do I pull the phone out of my pocket, unlock it, and then text?”

“What if I just use Siri?”

And my answer is always, “That’s up to you.”

Then we share out results:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And compile the results:

IMG_20131212_111520499

And finally go out into the hallway to measure some of the values:

December 12, 2013 61346 PM EST

And the student reactions are priceless.

##CVPM

 

 

About Frank Noschese

HS Physics Teacher constantly questioning my teaching.

Leave a Reply

