Day 105: #SBAR Workshop

Slide1Slide2Slide3Slide4Slide5Slide6Slide7Slide8

My presentation slides above, which served as points of discussion for the begining of the session. Below are links to the handouts I provided. Some are available free online, others through an ASCD paywall.

Survey Appendix C in A Repair Kit for Grading: Study Guide (O’Connor/ETS)

The 15 Fixes for Broken Grades  (O’Connor)

Rubric for Evaluating Grading Practices Appendix B in A Repair Kit for Grading: Study Guide (O’Connor/ETS)

Seven Reasons for Standards-Based Grading Educational Leadership, Oct 2008 (Scriffiny)

When Students Track Their Progress Educational Leadership, Dec 2009 (Marzano)

Ch 5: Feedback, Record Keeping, and Reporting Improving Student Learning One Teacher at a Time (Pollock)

Redos and Retakes Done Right Educational Leadership, Nov 2011 (Wormelli)

In the 1.5 hour introductory session, we didn’t have time to go through all of the above documents.

The survey was a great conversation starter and I highly recommend it. Also, you should know that Chapter 5 from Pollock’s book is what got me into SBG in the first place. It’s well written, shows multiple layouts for SBG gradebooks, and doesn’t get bogged down in the minutia of assigning scores and final grades like Marzano’s books (which I think, for beginners, are intimidating and shift the focus away from learning and standards).

I hope both SBG newbies and veterans find something new in the resources above!

About Frank Noschese

HS Physics Teacher constantly questioning my teaching.

2 responses to “Day 105: #SBAR Workshop”

  1. Anonymous says :

    Thanks so much! I’m not a SBG’er yet, but as I’ve been following your posterous and blog this year, I’m intrigued and excited about the idea.This post will really help me look at Standards Based Grading actually is, and how I could incorporate it into my Physics 1 class.Your transparency is really encouraging to me as a teacher.

  2. Jimmy Wu says :

    I would like to say that I really enjoy reading your Blog. Lots of great ideas. I too have not made up my mind on “SBG”. The trouble I have with it, or one of the trouble I have with it is exactly what you posted here. People have used similar arguments to me before and I just can’t get over the fact that my students are not graded for THE SAME TASK multiple times (usually 10 times is what most presenters use). Also many of my colleagues do not or cannot “weight” each assignment/task/test etc as equal weighing. I would like to see someone explain SBG to me in terms of numbers and situations that are more similar to what I often encounter in class.

Leave a comment